My ZBrush Owl 3D Print Arrived!

So after finishing up my ZBrush sculpt of the owl, it took some time to get it printed. I initially tried to get it printed in porcelain, but unfortunately, my sculpt had some structural flaws, so I had to use a different material. I then opted to use plastic, and the results are pretty good. Here’s some pictures:

IMG_1665IMG_1666IMG_1667IMG_1668IMG_1669Shapeways did a great job with it. I love how even my tiniest details got through into the 3d print! It’s not very large, unfortunately, but any larger would’ve been a bit too much for my first 3d print. I’m very happy with how the model came out. Here’s the ZBrush pics for comparison:
Screen Shot 2017-06-12 at 8.37.50 AMScreen Shot 2017-06-12 at 8.37.35 AM

Most of the detail came through, and the model, much to my surprise, is capable of standing on its own! I hadn’t expected that too work out!

 

Leave a Reply

