Progress Update: ZBrush Owl Sculpt

Hey all,

So as you may remember, I’ve been sculpting an owl for eventual 3d printing. This is actually only my second time seriously using ZBrush for a project, and I’m quite surprised so far. I thought the project would take much longer to create the basic shape, as I mentioned before, but it actually hasn’t taken too much time, surprisingly. Here’s my progress pictures:

You may remember from my last post that I had a hard time figuring out how to add detail. I’ve figured out a means for doing so now. Most of the owl’s details, from what I’ve seen in pictures, tend to come from the feathers and other smaller details. There are ways in ZBrush to add feathers, by means of fiber mesh. However, I’m not entirely sure how that method will work with 3d printing. So I decided to hand sculpt on a feather pattern, based off of several sculptures and other ZBrush sculpts I’ve seen. The result is that the sculpt looks much more detailed than without any feather pattern.

Episode 0 is also progressing, but slowly, since there’s only so much I can do in one day, unfortunately. This project should be finished soon, and hopefully that should free up more time for Episode 0. I may end up putting this model on a back burner and switch to the models for Episode 0 instead. We shall see, certainly.

As always, like, subscribe, and share!

Leave a Reply

