Daily Progress Update: Substance Painter and Texturing

Today’s progress centered mostly on using Substance Painter, and, consequently, with texturing the Aerial Skirmisher. Substance Painter has made texturing far quicker and easier for me than using just Substance Designer, but the caveat has been that I have had to change my approach for creating textures in Substance Designer. Substance Designer can make some great tile textures, which is what I initially made for my first few sample tests. However, tile textures do not make for particularly great painting textures. While one could use a fill layer, it still sort of defeats the purpose of Substance Painter.

My main issue, initially, with my textures was that the panel lines didn’t look very good on the models. In fact, using just the pure textures from Substance Designer, they didn’t apply very well at all. Now to be fair, this is partly due to the bad UVs I had. But even with fixed UVs, I wasn’t getting an amazing application. So I removed the panel lines from the original texture. Some pictures of my progress from that:

Screen Shot 2017-03-28 at 1.10.47 PMScreen Shot 2017-03-28 at 1.10.55 PM

Initially I just painted on the new texture. It didn’t look as good as just applying the tile texture in Unity. I decided then that I should just apply it as a tile, in a fill layer, without the panel lines, since what I need the most is custom panel lines. Interestingly enough, I still felt it was off. The reason was fairly straightforward, and stupid for why it was off: there’s no panel lines. That missing detail makes it look off no matter how I apply the non-tiled texture. I then added in some custom panel lines by using the line tool in Substance Painter (with a material that had only height information and a very thin standard brush). I also experimented and compared.

Screen Shot 2017-03-28 at 4.11.58 PMScreen Shot 2017-03-28 at 4.06.38 PMScreen Shot 2017-03-28 at 1.56.04 PM

I tried darker colors, lower specularity, higher specularity, and even looked at the original tiling on different variations. Ultimately, I decided on a lighter, metallic version. That is, I decided to use the top most picture version of the model. The results are in this, for fun, poster picture:

Screen Shot 2017-03-28 at 4.38.19 PM

So Substance Painter has been quite a bit of fun and has created some pretty gorgeous textures. Mainly I’m still using Substance Designer, but Substance Painter has allowed me to create those coveted custom panel lines really easily. I may have to redo them, but now that I understand how to do it, it shouldn’t be too bad.

As always, like subscribe, and share.

Here’s all the pictures in thumbnail format:

Leave a Reply

